top of page

Ultimate American Horror Story Season Ranking

Hey Guys! October is almost upon us and the newest season of American Horror Story premiered last week! I didn't start watching this show until after the 6th season had premiered but have binge watched it several times since. Enjoy my ranking of seasons from WORST to BEST!

 

AHS: Hotel (Season 5)

This is my least favorite season of AHS for a variety of reasons but the cast changes were the worst. This season saw a radical new number of actors added to the story with the return of very few we loved, they weren't great new choices either. The story line for this season was also lacking and just not very interesting overall. They tried to recreate some of the elements from Murder House but it fell flat, and Lady Gaga plays a vampire creature? Yeah... okay. They also try to add in some characters to tie in to previous seasons but it felt forced. I wouldn't rewatch this season if you paid me.

AHS: Cult (Season 7)

The last season to air, this one was very controversial for its political undertones and overall message. This season also saw some drastic cast additions and changes and not for the better in my opinion. This season was created primarily for the controversy it would stir and not much more about it made sense. The plot was confusing overall and when things were revealed, it was anti- climactic. The scariest thing about this season was how bad it was and I hope the producers don't try to use politics in other seasons.

AHS: Asylum (Season 2)

Most people praise this season as one of the bests, but I didn't enjoy it as much as I had hoped. There are a few easter eggs in this season that show up in later seasons but you don't know they're there until later seasons. There was also a strange element of the supernatural in this season that just didn't make any sense. Sure, there's always supernatural elements during an AHS season but the alien bits didn't fit in with the demon theme of this season. There are a couple of great plot twists in this season but I just couldn't get into the story. I am due for a rewatch however.

AHS: Murder House (Season 1)

The original season, this was how I was introduced to this series and I absolutely loved it. This seasons isn't as scary as some of the others but is a good starting point if you aren't used to the horror genre (Like I wasn't). I like this season because it doesn't just tell one story, but many. Because of this, it has some great plot twists you don't see coming and endears you to its story style. After watching the other seasons, this one still stands up and has great depth. I'm currently in the middle of rewatching this one.

AHS: Freak Show (Season 4)

This is another season that's praised as one of the bests and it's definitely one of the most unique. This is the first season you really start to see the ties of characters to other seasons and I love it. This is the saddest season in my opinion because of the way the "freaks" are treated, in addition to the gruesome things that happen to them. This season shows the horror of people, inside and out. I also love the costume and special effects shown in this season, the production value must have been astronomical. I really enjoy this season and need to rewatch it as well.

AHS: Coven (Season 3)

This season is not nearly as scary as the others but has a natural charm about it that makes it one of my absolute favorites. I have watched this season about as many times as the 6th season and still enjoy it. It's hard to put my finger on why I love this season but the mostly female cast may have something to do with it. There are few men in this season and it really allows the witches to feel an extra sense of empowerment, in addition to their awesome powers. Most f this season focuses on finding a new supreme witch for the coven and I love the competition the girls engage in. It makes the second half of the season quite intense and has a surprising outcome. This season is great if you love spooky things and not as much horror.

AHS: Roanoke (Season 6) Here we are! My favorite season. Most people are not a fan of this season but I loved both the change of format and the lore behind it. This is by far the most gruesome season and I've watched it about 4 times since its premiere because of how much I love it. This season gives a narrative to the lost colony of Roanoke in a really interesting way and I've always found that story interesting. I really enjoyed the documentary style first half of the season and the found footage style of the rest of it. I think it adds a unique depth and really shows the full degree of horror they go to in this season. If you're in need of a really terrifying show to watch watch this season!

Honorable Mention- AHS: Apocalypse (Season 8)

This season premiered last week and is highly anticipated for many reasons, including it's supposed hybrid between the murder house and coven seasons. It promises to be the best season yet, and after the disaster of last season, I hope it is.

 

That's my ranking! Hope you enjoyed it and hopefully you'll give this show a chance if you haven't already. Have a great weekend guys!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page